Before you begin your search for the best Florida auto insurance rates, you should first consider how much coverage is enough for your lifestyle. Although the average auto insurance premium in the state of Florida is $1,695 (2009), not all Florida residents will probably pay exactly the same rates. Depending on numerous factors, you might pay more or less than the average Florida driver. Premiums vary greatly by age, gender, geographic location, and kind of vehicle, mileage, usage, driving record, employment, and even credit. Florida drivers can also find yourself spending less on the basis of the types of discounts each policyholder qualifies for.
To get started on purchasing Florida auto insurance, a good kick off point could be the state’s minimum auto liability insurance requirements. It is important to see that Florida’s car insurance laws have undergone several changes since 2007. The info published here comes directly from the official Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV). Based on FLHSMV, to be able to maintain a Florida license plate and registration, Florida’s minimum coverage is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
Because Florida has the 3rd highest quantity of drivers on your way in the united kingdom (12,905,813) and approximately 23% of those drivers are uninsured, most auto insurance companies and state insurance departments recommend carrying higher amounts than the minimum requirements. They also recommend carrying uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This could help protect you against the nearly 3 million uninsured drivers and the an incredible number of underinsured drivers in their state of Florida. Overall, the minimum recommended amounts for car insurance in Florida are $100,000 for bodily injury and $300,000 per accident.
After you have established an amount that is sufficient to guard you and your loved ones against auto accidents, it’s time to begin shopping and comparing. Contact around 3 auto insurance companies and request a quote. In the event that you request quotes online you can save time. You will soon be asked a series of questions and the device will generate a quote. Once you have received up to three quotes, contact your company of choice and inquire about discounts. Most insurance providers offer multiple discounts, sometimes as many as 9 or maybe more, and there is an excellent chance you may qualify for more than just Florida auto insurance one. You may be able to profit on discounts if you are a great driver or an adult drivers. Other discounts can be found for car-pool drivers, multicar households, multipolicy discounts, antitheft devices, and seatbelts and airbags. Some auto insurance companies even offer discounts for non-smokers.
Note: Their state of Florida has strict laws about whom you work with. If you are a Florida resident and your car or truck is registered in their state of Florida, you should purchase an auto insurance coverage through an insurance company that is licensed to offer car insurance in their state of Florida. If you purchase an auto insurance plan from an unlicensed out-of-state insurance provider, the state of Florida will not honor the policy. Furthermore, new Florida residents are prohibited from maintaining a preexisting policy that has been issued in their previous state of residence.